A rant on politics
2006-04-15 - 12:53 p.m.

One of my biggest pet peeves is close minded people. I am a poltical science major and know more about politics to win any argument I enter. I usually though don't discuss politics with people who aren't as educated because it's not that stimulating. I also won't enter into discusions of politics with people who are close minded.

I am republican to the core. However, I respect anybodys right to have a differing opinion and to voice that opinion. That is what makes America so great. But what I can't stand is when people make personal attacks. For example, name calling or saying someone must be brain washed because they have a different point of view. And it happens on both sides of the fence. I've seen conservatives and liberals do it. Name calling only shows how ignorant the name caller is to actual issues. When the only argument you have to stand on is one that kindergartners use, that's pretty sad.


Another larger annoyance is those who personally attack the president. Again, it's fine to disagree with his politics. But to call him a moron, or backwards or anything else is simply idiotic.


I guess the point I'm trying to make is, that if your going to talk politics, atleast know what your talking about and don't resort to name calling cause really your only lessening your own argument.

|