speak up for the land of the big macs and whoppers
2006-05-14 - 11:44 a.m.

so I'm reading an article about how the United states is now starting a war against obesity similar to the war on tobacco. The same lobbyists who campaigned against the tobacco companies are now going against the fast food giants and other such corportations. Now I've seen super size me and I've read Fast Food Nation. I'm slightly knowledgeable on the whole they are bad stigma.

But this is freaking America. This is a country that is supposed to pride itself on being the land of the free. If people are too stupid to realize that maybe they shouldn't be eating the third big mac then maybe we should let nature take its course. I don't mean to sound cruel but really we can't pride ourself on being a free nation and at the same time worry about how we are going to regulate what people eat.

And in terms of how they market to children, it is also not our job raise someone elses child. Maybe if so many parents didnt use the tv as a babysitter, children wouldn't be so exposed to this advertising. Last I checked, no one in any of the children books that I read as a child stopped off at mcdonalds for a quick bite.


If people aren't bright enough to realize that you shouldn't eat certain things then good riddance. The people who know how to eat things in moderation shouldn't be punished because too many do not.

|